What I Had For Lunch, Again

What I Had For Lunch, Again

So the other day I packed a pretty interesting assortment of leftovers for lunch in an effort to clear out the fridge and not waste. And what I came up with was: half a burger from the barnyard and a small container of their harrissa and sour cream sauce; a carton of white rice; chili lemon dried mango slices; and a thai sticky rice and red bean pocket thing with an unidentified meat in the middle wrapped in a banana leaf. I certainly win points for diversity and balance. This kind of situation usually occurs due to lack of planning and having to rush out of the door in the morning for whatever reason. I also have all of these leftovers because it was the end of the weekend, and you know what that means: eating out and take-away. I can’t decide which I like better, but it really depends on the mood of the weekend.

Ultimately I was really entertained by this lunch. The chili lemon mangoes we had been working on for a while, and are one of my favorite snacks in the whole world. I have a weak spot for spicy things, and these guys are like my kryptonite, along with coffee. The burger was still good, even reheated, and to make it even more interesting I spread the harrissa sauce, which is normally for the fries, on the bottom of the patty. I loved the flavor twist. Now, white rice is white rice, and there isn’t much to tell about it. I reheat mine in the carton with the lid closed to keep the moisture in, which essentially re-steams it.

The sticky rice, red, bean, meat, banana leaf thing I saved for last because it was very…….. interesting. I can’t tell you what it is because I couldn’t understand what the girl on the other end was saying to me when we ordered delivery Sunday night. Initially I asked for an order of mangoes and sticky rice, but they were out of that, so I asked for fried bananas and they do not offer those. She told me what they did have and all I caught were the words banana, sticky rice, and sweet, so I said, “okay yes an order of that please.” The sticky rice was obvious, and I surmised that the dark spots were red beans, but the meat filling I’m still not quite too sure about. It tasted mostly like bananas so there was no flavor quality I could pick out that would tell me what it was. It did not make me sick though, and I really kind of liked it. Next time I will have to ask exactly what it is and hope for the best.

Leave a Reply

